...hang the dj

.......... *

Contact info

Send music submissions, press releases, or questions/concerns to: cristina [at] 89xradio.com or: hangthedjmag [at] gmail.com

Or just hit me up on Twitter @cristinarocks

Blog Archive


Blogger news

Tune in to 89x for my radio broadcasts...

Listen to Time Warp on 89X - the long running classic alternative show airs Sunday mornings from 8am - 12pm ET. Listen on the radio (88.7) in Detroit, or stream it worldwide on the net. The Time Warp playlist archive is posted here.
Powered by Blogger.

Search This Blog



Zack De La Rocha from Rage Against the Machine fame has teamed up with Jon Theodore from the Mars Volta. The new project is called One Day As a Lion. The band will release their debut ep this Tuesday, but if you check out their myspace page you can check out a new song, "Wild International" right now.
The Verve will release their new cd, Forth, on August 26th. The band is offering a variety of packages, as well as some exclusive extras if you pre-order the cd from the band's website. The following info was sent out to the Verve mailing list:

The track listing for Forth:
01. Sit And Wonder

02. Love Is Noise
03. Rather Be
04. Judas
05. Numbness
06. I See Houses
07. Noise Epic
08. Valium Skies
09. Columbo
10. Appalachian Springs

Three different versions of the album will be available to pre-order from The Verve's official online store today.

• Deluxe Boxset

A deluxe boxset will be available solely from The Verve's official online store. This version will consist of a double heavyweight gatefold LP vinyl (containing two bonus tracks not on the CD version of the album), limited edition CD & DVD edition of the album (see below for more information on this item), and an exclusive memorabilia tour book.

If you order the deluxe edition you will instantly receive a free download of 'Love Is Noise' recorded live at Glastonbury, and will also receive the full album as a download on August 18th, one week ahead of the general release date.

• CD & DVD Package

A special CD and DVD package is also available, featuring an exclusive band documentary and live footage from The Verve's headlining appearance at Coachella in May 2008, packaged in a case bound tour book. Tracks featured on the DVD will be:

01. Sonnet (Live At Coachella)
02. Life's An Ocean (Live At Coachella)
03. The Rolling People (Live At Coachella)
04. Lucky Man (Live At Coachella)
05. Love Is Noise (Live At Coachella)+ 20 minute "Space And Time" documentary

As with the Deluxe Edition, if you order this version of the album from the Verves official online store you will instantly receive a free download of 'Love Is Noise' recorded live at Glastonbury.

• Original CD Album

You can also buy the standard CD album. If you order this version from the Verves official store you will also receive a free download of 'Love Is Noise' recorded live at Glastonbury.

**** All versions of the album ordered before August 18th , including the deluxe box set, will be delivered on release date. Orders received after this date will be delivered as quickly as possible. ****
According to a new study, the louder the music in venues, the faster you drink. The French study was recently published in Alcoholism: Clinical & Experimental Research.
More reissues from the Replacements are coming! The band's catalog from the Twin/Tone years was reissued by Rhino back in April. In September, Rhino will reissue all the Replacements material from Sire. Tim, Pleased To Meet Me, Don't Tell A Soul, and All Shook Down will drop September 23rd. Check out the tracklisting for the reissues here.

In other Replacements news, Paul Westerberg is going to offer 49 minutes worth of music for 49 cents! The 49 cent downloads start tomorrow. Check out his website for more info on that.
Three new U2 reissues will drop this Tuesday. Boy, October, and War have all been given the reissue/repackage/remaster treatment. Each release will be available as an extended 2-cd package--the original material will be on disc 1, and the second disc will contain previous unreleased, live, bonus, and rare material. Amazon.com is offering a special U2 boxset containing all 6 discs as well as a super-special poster.

More U2 reissues are coming in September: Under A Blood Red Sky and Live At Red Rocks are expected to drop September 23rd.

In more U2 news, click here to check out what U2 producer Steve Lillywhite had to say about some of the early U2 recordings and recording sessions.