...hang the dj

.......... *

Contact info

Send music submissions, press releases, or questions/concerns to: cristina [at] 89xradio.com or: hangthedjmag [at] gmail.com

Or just hit me up on Twitter @cristinarocks

Blog Archive


Blogger news

Tune in to 89x for my radio broadcasts...

Listen to Time Warp on 89X - the long running classic alternative show airs Sunday mornings from 8am - 12pm ET. Listen on the radio (88.7) in Detroit, or stream it worldwide on the net. The Time Warp playlist archive is posted here.
Powered by Blogger.

Search This Blog



Garbage drops its sixth studio album Strange Little Birds on June 10th, and now the band has announced dates for a North American tour in promotion of the album. The tour includes a stop at the Fillmore Detroit on July 16th. The pre-sale kicks off May 5th, and the general onsale is Friday, May 6th. The full tour itinerary is posted below along with the new Garbage single "Empty." The band reports that they'll unleash the official video for "Empty" soon.

Garbage -- U.S. tour

May 14 -- Irvine, CA @ Irvine Meadows Amphitheater
Jun 18 -- Chicago, IL @ Hollywood Casino Amphitheater
Jul 06 -- Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
Jul 07 -- Minneapolis, MN @ Skyway Theatre
Jul 08 -- Omaha, NE @ SumTur Amphitheater
Jul 10 -- Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theatre
Jul 12 -- St. Louis, MO @ The Pageant
Jul 13 -- Tulsa, OK @ Brady Theater
Jul 15 -- Indianapolis, IN @ Egyptian Room
Jul 16 -- Detroit, MI @ Fillmore Detroit
Jul 17 -- Columbus, OH @ Promowest Fest
Jul 19 -- Knoxville, TN @ The Mill & Mine
Jul 20 -- Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
Jul 22 -- Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle
Jul 23 -- Charlotte, NC @ Fillmore Charlotte
Jul 25 -- Richmond, VA @ The National
Jul 27 -- Sayerville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
Jul 28 -- Boston, MA @ House Of Blues Boston
Jul 30 -- Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore Philly
Jul 31 -- Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head Live
Aug 01 -- New York, NY @ SummerStage
Aug 03 -- Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theater

Published May 4th, 2016
The classic punk rock episode of Quincy, has found its way online. Watch as Jack Klugman rages against evil punk rock music that was clearly corrupting the youth in 1982.  The episode, titled Next Stop Nowhere, originally aired December 1st, 1982 on NBC.  Good times.

Quincy - Next Stop Nowhere


After toying with and/or taunting fans by erasing their presence from social media, Radiohead finally gave up the goods and debuted the song "Burn The Witch" today. Radiohead fans have been waiting for this day for a LONG time -- "Burn The Witch" has been in the works for years.  Though Radiohead performed the unfinished version in concert years ago, it took until today for the band to release the haunting and lush single. Additionally Radiohead premiered the accompanying official video for "Burn The Witch" which is said to be influenced by the BBC's classic children's show TV Trumpton. Enjoy "Burn The Witch" below and purchase a digital copy now from Radiohead's official site.

Published May 3rd, 2016


8 am hour:

Cocteau Twins "Iceblink Luck"
English Beat "Save It For Later"
Pretenders "Don't Get Me Wrong"
Talking Heads "This Must Be The Place"
Mad Season "River Of Deceit"
Bryan Ferry "Slave To Love"
Wire "Kidney Bingos"
Soup Dragons "I'm Free"
De La Soul "Eye Know"
Folk Implosion "Natural One"
Pulp "Common People"
Ocean Blue "Between Something & Nothing"
OMD "Enola Gay"
La's "There She Goes"

9 am hour:

Duran Duran "Rio"
Tin Tin "Kiss Me"
Clash "Lost In The Supermarket"
Pearl Jam "Once"
Primus "Wynona's Big Brown Beaver"
R.E.M. "So. Central Rain"
Three O'Clock "I Go Wild"
Jesus & Mary Chain "Happy When It Rains"
Sugarcubes "Birthday"
Hum "Stars"
Nirvana "Sappy"
David Bowie "Rebel Rebel"

10 am hour:

Replacements "Merry Go Round"
Pixies "Hey"
Go Go's "Vacation"
Sloan "I Hate My Generation"
Smashing Pumpkins "Tonight Tonight"
Smiths "Ask"
World Party "Way Down Now"
Fall "Oh! Brother"
Buzzcocks "Orgasm Addict"
Joy Division "Warsaw"
Violent Femmes "Add It Up"
Veruca Salt "Seether"
Beck "The New Pollution"
Jamiroquai "Virtual Insanity"

11 am hour:

Radiohead "No Surprises"
Dinosaur Jr "Puke & Cry"
Catherine Wheel "Texture"
Specials "Rudy, A Message To You"
Psychedelic Furs "The Ghost In You"
Fiona Apple "Criminal"
Nine Inch Nails "Down In It"
Depeche Mode "Everything Counts"
Nitzer Ebb "Come Alive"
Stone Roses "I Am The Resurrection"


Nothing is poised to release its highly anticipated new album Tired Of Tomorrow on May 13th. The Philadelphia shoegazers recently debuted two tracks from the album -- "Vertigo Flowers" and "Eaten By Worms" -- along with a few webisodes from their Tired Of Tomorrow documentary. Now another single is available to stream and it's an epic slow-jam stunner titled "The Dead Are Dumb." Prepare for greatness and stream the splendorous "The Dead Are Dumb" below.

Tired Of Tomorrow will be released May 13th on a variety of formats -- electric blue limited edition vinyl, pink/white limited edition vinyl, standard black vinyl, limited edition cassette, CD, and digital album download (deluxe 2LP set is sold out). Check out the available pre-order options here or head over to Amazon.

Don't miss Nothing out on the road this summer. Note: the Detroit show is at a brand new venue in Mexicantown.

May 15 -- Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees
Jun 04 -- New York, NY @ Governors Ball
Jun 05 -- Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Jun 07 -- Toronto, ON @ Lee's Palace
Jun 08 -- Detroit, MI @ El Club
Jun 09 -- Cleveland, OH @ Now That's Class
Jun 10 -- Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
Jun 11 -- Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock
Jun 12 -- Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Jun 14 -- Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater
Jun 15 -- Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Jun 16 -- Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Jun 17 -- Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Jun 18 -- Vancouver, BC @ Levitation
Jun 19 -- Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Jun 21 -- San Francisco @ Slim's
Jun 22 -- San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
Jun 23 -- Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Jun 24 -- Tempe, AZ @ Yucca Tap Room
Jun 25 -- Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar
Jun 27 -- McAllen, TX @ Yerberia Cultura
Jun 28 -- Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder
Jul 02 -- St. Petersburg, FL @ Local 662
Jul 03 -- Orlando, FL @ Backbooth
Jul 05 -- Durham, NC @ Motorco
Jul 06 -- Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter
Jul 07 -- Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Jul 08 -- Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Jul 09 -- New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Jul 15 -- Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival

Published April 28th, 2016

A few weeks ago The Dan Ryan debuted "Fleeting," the Beatles-esque first single from their forthcoming debut album. The psych-folk project has now premiered another song from the record titled "Tidewater Rain Love," and though this one is less Beatles-y, it's pretty wonderful nonetheless. Check out the track below:

Learn more about the Dan Ryan here and stream the glorious "Fleeting" below:

The Dan Ryan's full album drops May 27th via Cosmic Dream Music.