...hang the dj

...hang the dj is a music blog. Old school, shoegaze, psych, and darkwave are featured genres.

Legal disclaimer: This blog is my personal, independent website. It is not affiliated with Bell Media, nor does it represents the thoughts, opinions, or desires of Bell Media

...hang the dj

.......... *

Contact info

Send music submissions, press releases, or questions/concerns to: cristina [at] 89xradio.com or: hangthedjmag [at] gmail.com

Or just hit me up on Twitter @cristinarocks

...hang the dj

...hang the dj is a music blog. Old school, shoegaze, psych, and darkwave are featured genres.

Legal disclaimer: This blog is my personal, independent website. It is not affiliated with Bell Media, nor does it represents the thoughts, opinions, desires, etc of Bell Media

For music submissions, press releases, or questions/concerns:

hangthedjmag (at) gmail.com

Or hit me up on Twitter: @CristinaRocks

Blog Archive

About

Blogger news

Tune in to 89x for my radio broadcasts...

Listen to Time Warp on 89X - the long running classic alternative show airs Sunday mornings from 8am - 12pm ET. Listen on the radio (88.7) in Detroit, or stream it worldwide on the net. The Time Warp playlist archive is posted here.
Powered by Blogger.

Search This Blog

Sunday, September 12, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #223: The Agony Of Defeat

Sunday, September 5, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #222: Expulsion

Sunday, August 29, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #221: Belfry

Tuesday, August 24, 2021


According to several reports, Olli Wisdom of Specimen has died.

Read more here.

Sunday, August 22, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #220: A Slight Dusting

Sunday, August 15, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #219: Quicksand

Sunday, August 8, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #218: Wayward

Sunday, August 1, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #217: Execution

Monday, July 26, 2021

 


Spiritualized will reissue Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space in September.

Sunday, July 25, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #216: Sundown

Sunday, July 18, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #215: Disjunctional

Sunday, July 11, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #214: Fly In The Ointment

Sunday, July 4, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #213: Deux It Again

Sunday, June 27, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #212: Downtime

Sunday, June 20, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #211: Contention

Monday, June 14, 2021


Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark are set to return to North America.

Sunday, June 13, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #210: Outside The Conversation

Thursday, June 10, 2021


A photo book celebrating Joy Division will be published this fall.

Sunday, June 6, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #209: Demolish

Monday, May 31, 2021



Morrissey
has announced details behind his new album.

Sunday, May 30, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #208: Fatal Consequence

Modern English hit the road at the end of the summer for a tour of the U.S.

Monday, May 24, 2021



The The announced details behind The Comeback Special


The Ocean Blue are set to head back out on the road later this year.

Sunday, May 23, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #207: Requital

1000 Homo DJs are set to re-release their classic Supernaut cover.

Bob Mould announced dates behind a fall tour of the U.S.

The Distortion and Blue Hearts tour kicks off September 16th in Boston and includes a Detroit stop on September 22nd at St. Andrew's Hall. Be aware that the first set of tour dates feature Mould with his band, which the last few dates of the tour are Mould's solo electric dates. View the tour routing below.

Mould will release a live vinyl box set - the fourth and final installment in the Distortion series - on July 16th. His latest solo album Blue Hearts is out now.

For more details on the tour, tickets, etc., head over to Mould's official website. View the live track "Something I Learned Today" below.



Bob Mould - full band tour dates

Sep 16 - Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club
Sep 17 - New York, NY - Webster Hall
Sep 18 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club
Sep 19 - Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer
Sep 21 - Pittsburgh, PA - Mr. Small’s Theatre
Sep 22 - Detroit, MI - St. Andrew’s Hall
Sep 24 - Chicago, IL - Vic Theater
Sep 25 - Minneapolis, MN - First Avenue
Sep 28 - Seattle, WA - Neumos
Sep 29 - Portland, OR - Wonder Ballroom
Oct 01 - San Francisco, CA - August Hall
Oct 02 - Los Angeles, CA - Teragram Ballroom
Oct 04 - Boulder, CO - Boulder Theater
Oct 05 - Dallas, TX - Granada Theater
Oct 06 - Austin, TX - The Mohawk

Bob Mould - solo electric tour dates

Oct 15 - Bloomington, IL - Castle Theatre
Oct 16 - Stoughton, WI - Stoughton Opera House
Oct 17 - Kalamazoo, MI - Bell’s Eccentric Cafe
Oct 19 - Kent, OH - Kent Stage
Oct 20 - Nelsonville, OH - Stuart’s Opera House
Oct 22 - Cincinnati, OH - Memorial Hall
Oct 23 - St. Louis, MO - Off Broadway Nightclub
Oct 24 - Iowa City, IA - Englert Theater

Sunday, May 16, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #206: Allusions

Sunday, May 9, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #205: The Breakdown

Friday, May 7, 2021


Nine Inch Nails have announced their live return.

Sunday, May 2, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #204: A Dusting Of Dreams

Thursday, April 29, 2021


Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds return with a new collection.

The Charlatans announced a greatest hits collection titled A Head Full Of Ideas.

Sunday, April 25, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #203: Gatorrr!

Sunday, April 18, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #202: Barking Up The Wrong Tree

Sunday, April 11, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #201: Sweltzer

Sunday, April 4, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #200: Oh! Typical

Sunday, March 28, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #199: Disenchantment Valley

Sunday, March 21, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #198: Disillusion

Sunday, March 14, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #197: Mad Dash To The Exit

Thursday, March 11, 2021


Dinosaur Jr return with a new album this spring, and now they've announced dates for a North American tour.

Sunday, March 7, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #196: Bridging

The Smiths-influenced film Shoplifters Of The World opens this month.

Shoplifters Of The World was written and directed by Stephen Kijak and is based on real events that took place in 1987 after The Smiths broke up. The film follows a group of four friends devastated after learning The Smiths had suddenly disbanded. During the same twenty-four hour period, a Denver radio station was taken hostage by an armed Smiths fan grief-stricken over the implosion of the legendary band - the impassioned fan held the DJ at gunpoint and forcing him to play nothing but Smiths songs all night.

The comedy-drama opens in theaters on March 26th and will also be available on demand and digitally the same day. The trailer debuted a few days ago and appears to likely not be the film you want, but at least it is filled with classics from the Smiths. The film - which was approved by The Smiths - includes 20 songs from the legendary band. The official Smiths account collected the 20 songs and presented them in an official playlist, which you can check out below along with the film's trailer.




(originally published March 7th, 2021)

Sunday, February 28, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #195: Odyssey

Paul Weller announced details behind a new album.

Wednesday, February 24, 2021


Spiritualized announced plans for a reissue campaign.

Tuesday, February 23, 2021


Dinosaur Jr return with a new album in April.

Sunday, February 21, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #194: Chasm

Richard Ashcroft has returned with a new single.

The legend has recorded a cover of John Lennon's "Bring On The Lucie (FREDA PEEPLE)." Ashcroft issued the single on Friday along with an accompanying video which was shot at Abbey Road Studios. Check out the single below.

Ashcroft is poised to return to the stage in May with a pair of shows in London.


Sunday, February 14, 2021


Classic Alternative - Episode #193: Candy Hearts