...hang the dj

...hang the dj is a music blog. Old school, shoegaze, psych, and darkwave are featured genres.

Legal disclaimer: This blog is my personal, independent website. It is not affiliated with Bell Media, nor does it represents the thoughts, opinions, or desires of Bell Media

...hang the dj

.......... *

Contact info

Send music submissions, press releases, or questions/concerns to: cristina [at] 89xradio.com or: hangthedjmag [at] gmail.com

Or just hit me up on Twitter @cristinarocks

...hang the dj

...hang the dj is a music blog. Old school, shoegaze, psych, and darkwave are featured genres.

Legal disclaimer: This blog is my personal, independent website. It is not affiliated with Bell Media, nor does it represents the thoughts, opinions, desires, etc of Bell Media

For music submissions, press releases, or questions/concerns:

hangthedjmag (at) gmail.com

Or hit me up on Twitter: @CristinaRocks

Blog Archive


Blogger news

Tune in to 89x for my radio broadcasts...

Listen to Time Warp on 89X - the long running classic alternative show airs Sunday mornings from 8am - 12pm ET. Listen on the radio (88.7) in Detroit, or stream it worldwide on the net. The Time Warp playlist archive is posted here.
Powered by Blogger.

Search This Blog

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Factory Records was established 40 years ago last year and to mark the important milestone Warner has announced the release of two limited edition boxsets celebrating the hugely influential and important label.

Use Hearing Protection: Factory Records 1978-79 collects the first ten FAC issued items: Joy Division's "Digital" single and seminal debut album Unknown Pleasures; OMD's "Electricity" single, A Factory Sample (double 7" compilation), three original Factory posters, film, stationery, and egg timer. Additionally a 60 page book, bonus 12" single, and two Joy Division interview CDs will be included in the boxset. Use Hearing Protection: Factory Records 1978-79 is limited to 4000 copies worldwide and will be released October 11th. Pre-order here and view the tracklisting below.

The second boxset Factory: Communications 1979 - 1992 compiles 63 tracks from Factory artists including Joy Division, New Order, A Certain Ratio, Section 25, The Durutti Column, Happy Mondays, Electronic, Revenge, The Other Two, James, The Railway Children, Northside, and many more. The compilation was previously issued on CD as a four disc set in 2009 and will receive a limited edition pressing on silver vinyl on November 8th. View the tracklisting below and pre-order here.

Use Hearing Protection: Factory Records 1978-79

FAC 1: 1978 Poster

FAC 2: A Factory Sample double 7" vinyl compilation:

Joy Division: "Digital"
Joy Division: "Glass"

Durutti Column: "No Communication"
Durutti Column: "Thin Ice"

John Dowie: "Acne"
John Dowie: "Idiot"
John Dowie: "Hitler’s Liver"

Cabaret Voltaire: "Baader-Meinhof"
Cabaret Voltaire: "Sex in Secret"

FAC 3: 1978 Poster

FAC 4: 1978 Poster

FAC 5: A Certain Ratio: "All Night Party" / "Thin Boys" 7” single

FAC 6: Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark: "Electricity" / "Almost" 7” single

FAC 7: Stationery - May 1979

FAC 8: Menstrual Abacus aka The Factory Egg Timer – presented on A4 Print

FAC 9: No City Fun aka The Factory Flick, 1979, (film) presented on DVD

FACT 10: Joy Division: Unknown Pleasures LP, June 1979

Factory: Communications 1979 - 1992 tracklisting

LP 1

Joy Division - Digital
Cabaret Voltaire - Baader Meinhof
A Certain Ratio - All Night Party
OMD - Electricity (Factory version)
Joy Division - She’s Lost Control
The Distractions - Time Goes By So Slow

Joy Division - Transmission
The Durutti Column - Sketch For Summer
X-O-Dus - English Black Boys
Joy Division - Love Will Tear Us Apart
A Certain Ratio - Shack Up

LP 2

Section 25 - Girls Don’t Count
Crawling Chaos - Sex Machine
A Certain Ratio - Flight
The Names – Nightshift

New Order - Ceremony (original version)
Minny Pops - Dolphin’s Spurt
John Dowie - It’s Hard To Be An Egg
Crispy Ambulance - Deaf
Section 25 - Dirty Disco

LP 3

New Order - Everything’s Gone Green
Tunnelvision - Watching The Hydroplanes
The Durutti Column - Messidor
A Certain Ratio - Knife Slits Water (LP version)

Royal Family and the Poor - Art on 45
Swamp Children - Taste What’s Rhythm
New Order - Temptation

LP 4

52nd Street - Cool As Ice
New Order - Blue Monday

Cabaret Voltaire - Yashar (John Robie remix)
Quando Quango - Love Tempo
The Wake - Talk About The Past Side 9 (1983-84)

LP 5

New Order - Confusion
Marcel King - Reach For Love
Section 25 - Looking from A Hilltop (Megamix)

Stockholm Monsters - All At Once
Life - Tell Me
The Durutti Column - Without Mercy (Duet)
James - Hymn From A Village
Kalima – Trickery

LP 6

A Certain Ratio - Sounds Like Something Dirty
Quando Quango - Genius
Happy Mondays - Freaky Dancin’
Miaow - When It All Comes Down

The Railway Children - Brighter
Biting Tongues - Compressor
New Order - True Faith
Happy Mondays - 24 Hour Party People

LP 7

New Order - Fine Time
Happy Mondays - W.F.L. (Think About the Future)
Revenge - Seven Reasons

Happy Mondays - Hallelujah (Club mix)
Electronic - Getting Away With It
Happy Mondays - Step On
Northside - Shall We Take A Trip

LP 8

England New Order - World In Motion
Happy Mondays - Kinky Afro
The Durutti Column - Home
Electronic - Get The Message (DNA remix)

Northside - Take 5
Cath Carroll - Moves Like You (remix)
The Other Two - Tasty Fish
Happy Mondays - Sunshine and Love (Lionrock remix)

Published August 7th, 2019